EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

October 25, 2013
Industry News: Hubert Wins Volant Euroformula Scholaship

Anthoine Hubert secured the Volant Euroformula scholarship for 2013 (Photo: Claude Rozet)
Anthoine Hubert secured the Volant Euroformula scholarship for 2013
(Photo: Claude Rozet)

The 2013 edition of the French-based Volant Euroformula has concluded, and Antoine Hubert has emerged as the scholarship winner.

Taking part in the final were Thomas Bacle (24 years old), Kévin Bole-Besancon (21), Amaury Bonduel (15), Timothé Buret (18), Ben Creed (18), Simon Crochart (21), Rémy Deguffroy (18), Jules Gounon (18), Tom Le Coq (18), Dylan Pereira (16), William Westerloppe (20), and Hubert. The drivers went head-to-head into the semi-final on the La Châtre circuit behind the wheel of Formula Renault 2.0 entry.

From the outset, Hubert proved to be fastest, ahead of Deguffroy, Pereira, Crochart, Le Coq. Those racer, along with Gounon, who the jury decided to qualify as his times were so close and his best timed lap so good, advanced to the final stage.

For the final, all the drivers used the same single-seater equipped with new tyres warmed up by Enzo Guibbert, the 2012 champion. The best average over five laps would be the decider.

When the six candidates had finished their turn, the President, Philippe Sinault, as well as the members of the jury Gilles Gaignault (Autonews Info), Pierre Gilbert (Driving Evolution), Olivier Lombard (Driver), Nelson Panciatici (Alpine Driver) and Pierre Ragues (Alpine Driver) unanimously declared Hubert the winner.

With an average of 36.066, Hubert dominated the final ahead of Deguffroy (36.619), Pereira (36.673), Gounon (36.745), Crochart (36.805), and Coq (37.039).

Memorable were the performances of Pereira and Crochart, who have no previous experience in motorsports.

"Of course I’m happy," stated Hunert. "The conditions weren’t the easiest, the track had changed since the semi-final. In this kind of competition you have to invest yourself completely, I went all out, and I managed to get a very good average. In the car I had the right physical sensations and I could sense I wasn’t doing badly. Now I can think about next year and I would like to drive in Formula Renault’s Eurocup. As a matter of fact, I just got back from a test in Barcelona with Tech 1 where I finished second Rookie and ninth in the overall ranking of some 30 drivers. For a discovery day it went rather well. The team was satisfied as well. If I can get the budget together, I would like to drive with Tech 1 in 2014."

"I am of course very happy with this logical outcome, seeing as Anthoine has dominated the selections from the start, and then the semi-final and the final," said Laurent Fradon, the Director of the Euroformula School. "We are all happy, including Joel de Miguel our instructor, and our engineers, Jacques and Quentin, to have an outstanding winner. He should progress in 2014 in the Eurocup Formula Renault and be a credit to the La Châtre circuit and our Euroformula School."

"His victory was obvious," added Sinault. "I’m not at all surprised. Anthoine demonstrated very neat driving with excellent times as well. In the end, it paid off. My hat off to Laurent Fradon for keeping his Volant going. He deserves congratulations, even!"

Hubert follows in the tracks of Paul Loup Chatin (2010), Simon Gachet (2011), and Enzo Guibbert (2012), and he will be awarded the €60,000 bursary as well as the Ralf Tech WRX Steel Hybrid watch!
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.190443 (77.26%), total time:0.246491, queries:22