EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

September 10, 2012 News
Pacific F2000/FF: Kelley Clinches Title with Buttonwillow Sweep

Bobby Kelley secured the 2012 Pacific F2000 title with his fifth win in Round 10 at Buttonwillow (Photo: Jerry Andersen - jerryandersen-world.com)
Bobby Kelley secured the 2012 Pacific F2000 title with his fifth win in Round 10 at Buttonwillow
(Photo: Jerry Andersen - jerryandersen-world.com)

Buttonwillow Raceway Park hosted Round 10 of the Pacific F2000/Formula F Super Series Championship Presented by Corsa Car Care on Sunday (September 9). The race was held on No. 25 2.920-mile configuration in Buttonwillow, Calif., as part of the Vintage Auto Racing Association Oktoberfest weekend.

Qualifying, which began at 8:00 am, was led by Saturday’s winner Bobby Kelley driving the No. 21 A & B Equipment/Dave Freitas Racing Van Diemen with a lap of 1:45.975. Kelley was followed by Bob Negron a former Master Class (drivers 51 and up) Champion and race winner in his No. 9 Terri Negron Web Design/Negron Racing Van Diemen and Camren Kaminsky in the No. 34 PR1 Motorsports Van Diemen, all three lapping within one half second of each other. These three were followed by Peter Hastrup in the No. 6 Dave Freitas Racing Van Diemen, Les Phillips in the No. 2 Swiss Implants/Porterfield Brakes Van Diemen, Chris Hundley in the No. 62 Limousine Connection/DFR Van Diemen, and Peter West in the No. 99 Frank Monise Motors/TJ Martel Foundation/DFR Van Diemen.

Conner Ford in the No. 77 JF Excavating & Grading/Western Nevada Supply/Sparco USA/PR1 Motorsports Mygale/Honda took the pole in the Formula F group, followed by Ed Erlandson in the No. 8 Artwork by Eli/Porter Racing/Loyning/Goodyear Swift DB6/Ford.

The green flag waved under clear, sunny skies for the 12:30 start, and it was the polesitter Kelley who seized the lead immediately, ahead of Negron and Kaminsky as the field headed into turn one. These three were followed by Phillips, West, and Hundley, with Hastrup pitting at the end of lap one to replace a flat right rear tire.

The field remained in this order until lap 11, when Hundley passed Phillips for fourth place, a position he maintained until the final lap, when Phillips chased him down and retook the position.

Once in the lead, Kelley maintained a steady gap and led every lap to take the victory, his second of the weekend, setting the fastest lap, and with it clinching the series title with two races remaining. Kelley’s win was his fifth win in the 10 races this season. He also has five second place finishes, two poles, and four fastest laps.

Negron drove flawlessly and kept Kelley honest at the front of the field, pushing him hard but was never quite close enough to attempt a passing maneuver and finished second claiming victory in the Master Class.

Kaminsky finished third, and with it took sole possession of second place in the standings.

Fourth place went to Phillips, who has moved into third in the overall standings and first in the Master Class.

Behind Phillips, it was Hundley finishing in fifth place, West in sixth, and Hastrup having made a second pit stop, two laps down in seventh.

In the Formula F group, Ford took the lead at start and was closely pursued by Erlandson in the early laps, but managed to distance himself from his challenger and went on to victory. The Mygale/Honda/Hoosier combination, new this year, has been strong enough in Ford’s hands to earn the second Formula F Super Series title with his eighth win. Ford was the Formula 2000 Series champion last year, and is also one of the eight finalists in the Team USA Scholarship, which each year sends drivers to compete in Europe in hopes of furthering their racing careers. Recent alumni include current IndyCar Series drivers Charlie Kimball, Josef Newgarden, and J.R. Hildebrand, along with Rolex series driver Dane Cameron.

The Pacific F2000/Formula F Super Series Championship Presented by Corsa Car Care now moves to Las Vegas Motor Speedway in Las Vegas, Nev., for Rounds 11 and 12 on October 6-7.

Pacific Formula F2000 Championship/Formula F Super Series
Round Ten - Race Results
September 9, 2012
Buttonwillow Raceway Park - Buttonwillow, California

Pos.DriverTeamDiff.Fast Time
1.Bobby KelleyDave Freitas Racing-1:46.556
2.Bob NegronNegron Racing2.4801:46.866
3.Camren KaminskyPR1 Motorsports9.5301:47.646
4.Les PhillipsPhillips Racing39.1471:49.666
5.Chris HundleyDave Freitas Racing39.7701:48.997
6.Peter WestDave Freitas Racing1:17.7931:51.359
7.Peter HastrupDave Freitas Racing2 Laps1:50.855

Formula F
Pos.DriverTeamDiff.Fast Time
1.Conner FordPR1 Motorsports-1:53.232
2.Ed ErlandsonPorter Racing5 Laps1:55.169
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.154206 (80.15%), total time:0.192402, queries:22