EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

September 09, 2012 News
Pacific F2000/FF: Kelley Wins Again at Buttonwillow

Bobby Kelley added to his championship lead with the win at Buttonwillow (Photo: Jerry Andersen - jerryandersen-world.com)
Bobby Kelley added to his championship lead with the win at Buttonwillow
(Photo: Jerry Andersen - jerryandersen-world.com)

Round Nine of the Pacific F2000/Formula F Super Series Championship Presented by Corsa Car Care was held on the 2.920 mile Buttonwillow Raceway Park in Buttonwillow, Calif., on Saturday (September 8). The event was run as part of the Vintage Auto Racing Association Oktoberfest weekend after a nearly three month summer break.

Leading the early morning qualifying, which began at 8:30 am was Bob Negron a former Master Class (drivers 51 and up) Champion and race winner in his No. 9 Terri Negron Web Design/Negron Racing Van Diemen. Negron was followed by Bobby Kelley in the No. 21 A & B Equipment/DFR Van Diemen and Camren Kaminsky in the No. 34 PR1 Motorsports Van Diemen, all three lapping within one half second of each other. These three were followed by Les Phillips in the No. 2 Swiss Implants/Porterfield Brakes Van Diemen, Peter Hastrup, back after taking a year away, in the No. 6 Dave Freitas Racing Van Diemen, Chris Hundley, in the No. 62 Limousine Connection/DFR Van Diemen, and Peter West in the No. 99 Frank Monise Motors/TJ Martel Foundation/DFR Van Diemen.

The Formula F group was again led by Conner Ford in the No. 77 JF Excavating & Grading/ Western Nevada Supply/Sparco USA/PR1 Motorsports Mygale/Honda. Ford was followed by Ed Erlandson in the No. 8 Artwork by Eli/Porter Racing/Loyning/Goodyear Swift DB6/Ford.

When the green flag waved for the 12:30 start, it was Kaminsky from his second row starting position who timed the start brilliantly, surging past both Negron and Kelley to take the lead into turn one. Negron managed to work his way past Kaminsky by the end of the first lap and was followed by Kaminsky, Kelley, Phillips, Hastrup, West and Hundley. Lap two saw Kelley get past Kaminsky for second place, as Negron tried to build on his lead. Once he was in second place, Kelley put in a series of fast laps, one of which turned out to be the fastest race lap, as he closed the gap to Negron and by mid-race the pair were running nose to tail. Negron and Kelley circulated mere inches apart for lap after lap, with Negron able to maintain the advantage to the white flag lap. Kelley had passed Negron coming to the white flag with Negron moving back ahead entering turn one, but drove in too deep and went wide, allowing Kelley back through on the inside. Negron chased Kelley, and when he dropped a wheel off at the exit of the Grapevine turn seemed to lose any opportunity to catch Kelley, but by the Mazda hairpin, Negron had closed back up and the pair went through side by side, with Negron finally giving way as they entered the esses and Kelley went on to claim his fourth with of the season to take a commanding lead in the points. Negron finished second, and with it took the victory in the Master Class.

Kaminsky finished a lonely third, not quite able to match the pace of Negron and Kelley, but well clear of those behind. The finish boosted him into a tie for second place in the standings.

Fourth place went to Hundley who was displaced by West on lap one. Hundley retook West on lap five, and set off after Hastrup, eventually getting by for fifth on lap 10 and finally passing Phillips for fourth on lap 13 of the 14-lap race to earn the wine Country Motorsports Hard Charger award.

Behind Hundley it was Phillips finishing in fifth place, Hastrup in sixth, showing little rust from his time away and West in seventh.

Ford led the FF group comfortably from start to finish and was chased by Erlandson, who has provided Ford with his stiffest competition thus far this season, but was unable to match Fordís pace on this day. The Mygale/Honda/Hoosier combination had the edge on the Swift/Ford/Goodyear.

The battle between the two is not only Ford versus Honda but Goodyear versus Hoosier, as tire choice is open in this group. Ford took maximum points with the pole and fastest lap and all but clinched the second Formula F Super Series title to go with the Formula 2000 Series title he won last year. Ford is also one of the eight finalists in the Team USA Scholarship, which each year sends drivers to compete in Europe in hopes of furthering their racing careers. Recent alumni include current Indycar drivers Charlie Kimball, Josef Newgarden and J.R. Hildebrand, along with Rolex Series driver Dane Cameron.

The Pacific F2000/Formula F Super Series Championship Presented by Corsa Car Care doubleheader at the Buttonwillow Raceway Park resumes on Sunday (September 9).

Pacific Formula F2000 Championship/Formula F Super Series
Round Nine - Race Results
September 8, 2012
Buttonwillow Raceway Park - Buttonwillow, California

Pos.DriverTeamDiff.Fast Time
1.Bobby KelleyDave Freitas Racing-1:46.360
2.Bob NegronNegron Racing0.4861:46.384
3.Camren KaminskyPR1 Motorsports11.5151:47.225
4.Chris HundleyDave Freitas Racing34.3661:48.323
5.Les PhillipsPhillips Racing34.8371:48.499
6.Peter HastrupDave Freitas Racing44.3021:49.072
7.Peter WestDave Freitas Racing45.1621:49.932

Formula F
Pos.DriverTeamDiff.Fast Time
1.Conner FordPR1 Motorsports-1:53.527
2.Ed ErlandsonPorter Racing1 Lap1:54.990
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.155914 (84.37%), total time:0.184789, queries:22