EFCN News Banner
Cooper Tire

May 14, 2012 News
Formula Car Challenge: Luna Tests FormulaSPEED2.0 Car as Rising Star Award Winner

Niki Luna earned a test in the World Speed Motorsports FormulaSPEED2.0 car as the winner of the Rising Star Award (Photo: World Speed Motorsports)
Niki Luna earned a test in the World Speed Motorsports FormulaSPEED2.0 car as the winner of the Rising Star Award
(Photo: World Speed Motorsports)

The World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Award has been helping career minded racers move up the racing ladder for years, and this year's award winner is Niki Luna.

Presented to racers that World peed believes have what it takes to become a pro driver, the Rising Star Award features a test with the renowned California-based junior formula car squad. Recently Luna was provided with a test at Infineon Raceway, piloting a FormulaSPEED2.0 class car. The karting standout made the most of the opportunity, showing good speed and commiunication with the World Speed coaches, engineers, and mechanics.

"I had a blast! I was getting more comfortable with the car and track with each lap. The car felt great and I really enjoyed the power behind it. The team was very professional and helpful, from the shop's organization and cleanliness to the driver coaching. I want to thank World Speed Motorsports for the opportunity to test the FS2.0, and hope to participate in more test days and begin racing with World Speed Motorsports in the near future."

"Niki did a great job of making the transition from karts into the FormulaSPEED2.0," noted World Speed Motorsports Team Owner Telo Stewart. "We were glad to be able to provide him a sample of what the future holds for him, and we look forward to seeing where he goes from here."

Luna earned the World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Award following success in the karting ranks. He captured the 2011 Red Line Oil Karting Series Championship in Rotax Senio, and was the Senior Driver of the Year.

World Sped Motorsports is a former Star Mazda Championship title winner and the leading force in the West Coast region of the Formula Car Challenge. Past winners of the World Speed Motorsports Rising Star Award are Scott Speed, Joey Hand, Joel Miller, Cole Whitt, Michael Self, Conor Daly, Ryan Phinny, Neil Alberico, Court Vernon, Michael McDowell, Brad Coleman, and Sage Karam. Many of these drivers have gone on to win in upper level open wheel, stock car, and sports car races all over the world.
Pacific Mountain Central Eastern International

Go Top
Copyright © 2002 eformulacarnews.com. All Rights Reserved.       Maintained by Holbi

Search eformulacarnews:

More News from this region
Related Stories
Silly Season 2015 - Tentative Entry Lists
eFormulaCarNews.com 2015 - An Evolution
Atlantic: Engine Changes and Longer Races for 2015
Enerson Signs with SPM for 2015 Indy Lights Season
Campos Racing Joins GP3 Series Line-up in 2015

Post your article

DB time: 0.154912 (70.17%), total time:0.220776, queries:22